Ted’s Bulletin

Guys, I’d be lying if I said that most of my paycheck didn’t already go here. Ted’s Bulletin is thisclosetomyapartment and, well, its really darn good. With its upscale diner theme, you can get staples here like tomato soup (that will appear later) as well as their entire breakfast menu all day. (That also makes an appearance too)

Last week I got a few work friends together to finally do a decent review of Ted’s–in the name of science of course. Needless to say, it was an easy sell.

Ted’s “gimmick” if you want to call it that, is its homemade pop-tarts. They have everyday flavors like salted caramel, blueberry cheesecake, and seasonal flavors like cherry blossom or key lime pie. If you have out of town visitors, the pop tarts play well. You can thank me later.

The ambiance of the restaurant evokes a feeling of simpler times with vintage light fixtures and black and white movies and tv shows playing in the background. Before you finish your meal expect to see some “I Love Lucy” on a television set near you.

IMG_0473
See? I didn’t lie

Now enough about the ambiance, on with the food!

Ted’s recently had a menu refresh. And no, I’m not ashamed that I noticed. Mostly, appetizers and entrees were changed, but the already perfect breakfast menu stayed the same. Today we’re looking at breakfast foods, so I’ll talk about the new items another time. But trust me, they’re good.

IMG_0481
Chocolate chip pancake, because I’m 5

I started with a pancake, because it was pretty early and I didn’t want too much to eat. While we were ordering my waiter said we could add chocolate chips, which was a no brainier. Their pancakes here are amazing. Light, fluffy, and sweet, the pancakes are filling but not overly so. I usually get a pancake every time I come here.

My friend got the TUBS which stands for The Ultimate Breakfast Sandwich.

IMG_0482
TUBS with a side of tomato soup because it’s THAT GOOD

The sandwich is two pieces of Texas toast with egg, bacon, sausage, and hash browns all pilled in. This is a heavy hitter on the Ted’s breakfast menu, and is loved by many. It’s not really my thing because I’m the type to enjoy all of the goodness separately, but I respect what’s going on here.

My third friend got the chicken littles, with another side to tomato soup.

IMG_0484
Fried chicken, biscuits, hashbrowns, tomato soup, and my hand in the background. What more can you ask for?

I’ve had the chicken littles a few times before, and they’re great. The friend chicken is succulent and the biscuits are great vehicles for the chicken. Plus Ted’s gets points for creativity here. I think chicken and waffles have become increasingly overdone since it was “discovered” about 3 years ago. This is a good way to have fried chicken on the menu, but in a slightly different presentation.

IMG_0474
Mad points for the menu being a newspaper. Extra points for dedicating the restaurant to the owner’s late father. So sweet!

Now, a little bit about the tomato soup. If you don’t believe me by now about its healing properties, read this New York Times piece about it. Yeah, this soup has been in the New York Times. No big deal. It’s just so good they had to publish a version of the recipe.

Do yourself a favor and get a cup next time you go into Ted’s.

IMG_0471
Fast line for the bakery

Overall, I love Ted’s. It has great versatility between its all-day breakfast and great dinner menu. It’s a place where I feel like I’m in an immersive experience, and I don’t have to pay out the nose for it. In fact, the prices are pretty reasonable. The food is consistently good, the staff is friendly, and in a transient city like D.C., Ted’s is able to feel like a home. Or at least, a piece of home from years gone by.

There are multiple locations, like its sister restaurant Matchbox, but the owners do a great job of making the different spots work in their neighborhood.

I love you Ted’s.

Grade: A

Price: $/$$

Ted’s Bulletin

Locations: Capitol Hill (The original) 

505 8th Street SE
Washington, DC 20003
(202) 544-8337

14th Street (My location)

1818 14th Street NW
Washington, DC 20009
(202) 265-8337

Virginia 

2911 District Ave., Unit 160
Fairfax, VA 22031
(571) 830-6680

11948 Market Street
Reston, VA 20190
(703) 956-9510

Maryland

220 Ellington Blvd.
Gaithersburg, MD 20878
(301) 990-0600

Leave a Reply

