Grilled Cheese DC (GCDC)

April 12 marks National Grilled Cheese Day. What a glorious holiday to observe! 😉

20160411_123233
The French Onion with Crispy Tots & The Young American both with Tomato Soup

This place is a MUST HAVE for all cheese lovers! Their menu is creative and diverse. I’m sure there is a sandwich there just for you. Today, being National Grilled Cheese Day, was the perfect excuse to try out this yummy hot spot.

GCDC is by the White House over on 17th Street and Pennsylvania Avenue. I work on the other side of the White House, but it was such a nice day I decided to walk over to try these guys out. I actually didn’t know what to expect. Grilled Cheese. What can you really expand on that? Maybe different types of bread with different types of cheese? To surprise myself I didn’t even check the menu before going.

20160411_123052
GCDC — Grilled Cheese DC

They seriously have everything. Their signature sandwiches look so good from just the descriptions, but if that’s not your cup of tea, GCDC also has a make-your-own sandwich where you can decide what cheese, meat, bread, toppings you want.

They also provide soup and salad. I, of course, got the tomato soup. What’s a grilled cheese sandwich without tomato soup, right? Normally, I don’t like tomato soup, unless it’s with grilled cheese. I would never have it by itself. It tastes too much like the original V8 juice, which, as you might have guessed, I don’t like, either. But my goodness, I actually fell in love with GCDC’s tomato soup. I did not think it was possible to want to drink tomato soup all day. Their soup has a very rich and savory taste to it that settles very well with the acidic taste of tomatoes.

The soup sizes come in three: dip, cup, and bowl. Here’s an exciting fact, on Monday’s they give you free soup with your sandwich. Other sides you can add to your sandwich are crispy tots, salads, chips, candy, and mac and cheese. I wanted to try their mac and cheese, but figured I might be eating too much cheese. You might say, “You can NEVER have too much cheese!” I know, I agree, but my tolerance for lactose, unfortunately, does not. So, I decided to forego the mac and cheese until my next visit and ended up getting the crispy tots. They were crispy, indeed.

20160411_123226
The French Onion

As for my sandwich, I got the French Onion. I love french onion soup and I was curious as to how that could translate into a sandwich. I was not disappointed. The cheese and carmelized onions oozed out between two beautifully toasted slices of challah bread. You could really hear the crunch when you bite down and I knew this was the best thing my tongue has ever laid its buds on. My eyes were shooting out hearts as if I was using some Snapchat filter. I dipped my toast into the tomato soup and fireworks were shooting up into the sky. It was like that scene in Ratatouille when Remy describes the beauty of the cheese/fruit combination. I think cheese just has that effect.

Before I knew it, I had finished my sandwich down to the last crumb, my soup down to the last drop, and was scraping the ketchup with my last tater tot. It was gone too soon. I walked back to my office fully satisfied with my lunch and suffered from a deliriously pleasant food coma for the next two hours.

Needless to say, I will most definitely be making another trip to GCDC soon. Why can’t every day be National Grilled Cheese Day?

If you have yet to try GCDC, go check them out! I think they’ve also got a nice happy hour. They’ve also got a fancy dinner menu that’s different from their lunch one.

Once again, Happy National Grilled Cheese Day!

Cheers, guys~
Lauren


GCDC — Grilled Cheese DC
1730 Pennsylvania Ave NW 
Washington, DC 20006

GRADE: A+
PRICE: $

Leave a Reply

